ad

The Facebook privacy tool does not really erase anything: what is it for?



A year after Mark Zuckerberg took the stage at the F8 conference in 2018 to announce the development of a tool that would erase the browsing history of Facebook, the company has something concrete to show, although in reality this tool does not erase anything.

The new Facebook privacy feature will allow users to unlink their activity from their account outside of Facebook.

This will undoubtedly help reduce exposure to certain types of ads but, in reality, the tool will not delete any of the data that is already stored on Facebook servers, nor will it prevent the company from using that data for commercial purposes.

In an article on the Facebook development blog, Facebook engineers suggested that the reason they chose to "disconnect" the data instead of allowing users to delete it completely, is because this removal of their databases It would take too long and they could not guarantee that the disposal was completely reliable.

Facebook is one of the most valuable companies in the world, with an approximate value of 40,000 million dollars, many of that millions coming from the benefits it obtains from the use of this data from its users, so it is to be assumed that the company You don't have enough motivation to make that total elimination possible.

The new privacy feature will initially only be available in Spain, Ireland and South Korea and will allow users to view the browsing data that the company has collected from websites that use the Facebook Like button or the startup features of session.

The user can choose to activate the option to “disconnect” the future browsing activity of his account, although, again, this will not prevent Facebook from collecting data about its activity within the social network.

This tool may seem somewhat disappointing for those who expect a real erase tool, but despite being somewhat decaffeinated for the user, the new feature could have a significant impact on Facebook's advertising revenue.