ad

Bad news if you used the filter to look old: FaceApp keeps your data



In recent days the "Age" filter of the FaceApp application has become very popular. However, not many users know that the price to pay for the fun is very high, since the app can use your photos and personal data for commercial purposes.

Although it is not new, in recent days the use of the filter that FaceApp makes available to users to check how they would look old, using Artificial Intelligence, has become viral. But, like everything in life, nothing is free and although the application is free, the fine print hides disturbing concerns for the privacy of users.

First of all, you should know that the photos added to FaceApp are uploaded to a server to be processed before sending them back to the user. The application's terms of service provide the company with a license to use photos and other information loaded by users for commercial purposes, including their names, images and voices. In addition to keeping the commercial right of your data, FaceApp can continue to store user data after they are removed from the application.
Another controversial aspect of the terms is that they indicate that they could transfer the data from one State to another to be ruled by the data protection jurisdiction of another country, and that this collection of data is legal. In this way, user photos and application data can be stored in Russia, the country where the application development team is based.

TechCrunch reported that FaceApp is using Google and Amazon servers in the United States. For its part, the application provided a detailed statement to that means to clarify its policy in the midst of privacy concerns. Although the terms of service suggest that the data could be transferred to the Russian development team, the company says that user data remains on American servers.
They also added that the photos stored on the server are saved to make the editing process more efficient for their users and that the photos are usually deleted within two days. On the other hand, they also accepted accepting requests from users for Remove all personal data from your servers. although he acknowledged that the support service is behind with these requests. FaceApp also stressed that 99% of users choose not to log in, so they do not have much identification information.

Finally, there are additional security concerns with the FaceApp version for iOS due to the way iPhones handle the security of photos. While users can block FaceApp and other applications so they can not see their full photo libraries through iPhone settings, TechCrunch reported a gap in iOS 11 that gives applications permission to access one photo at a time if the user grants the permission.

So far, security experts have not detected any unusual practices with the current version of FaceApp, but as with all applications, users should be aware of their lack of control when sharing photos and other personal information.